Never before has volunteering given me as much pleasure

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere really is something to this whole following your dreams stuff.

Recently as many of you know, I started volunteering at CJSF and it’s been a truly eye opening experience, more so I think than ever before. Part of the reason I think this experience is so different is that Radio as a whole is something that I have been passionate about since I was just a kid.

However, as much as I love radio I haven’t yet been in the booth – which is ironically fine with me. I started volunteering with CJSF because I very much want to have my own show one day.

I even told my friend Dano – who also works at the station, that I want to be the female Howard Stern one day – you know without the whole being a horrible human being part.

Turns out that this year not only did I get to help organize the Pride crew (much smaller than I am used to) I also got to march in Pride – something I  have sworn over the years I’d never do again.

I love Pride, I love everything about Pride – it’s the one day a year when people from all walks of life come together, and as much it’s about LGBTQ pride, it is also about being proud of being who you are as a human being. Anger, resentment, fear, and sadness all disappear, people are fully and truly happy to be there, and it’s a wonderful experience. If you haven’t had the chance to march in a Pride Parade, seriously go do it. It’s the equivalent of taking a pill filled with nothing but joy.

Anger, resentment, fear, and sadness all disappear, people are fully and truly happy to be there, and it’s a wonderful experience. If you haven’t had the chance to march in a Pride Parade, seriously go do it. It’s the equivalent of taking a pill filled with nothing but joy.

Every person who marches does so in order to spread a message of hope to those who feel hopeless, equality to those who take advantage of others, and love for our fellow and sister human beings and it’s truly a joyous event.

It’s a day of Happy; as I was on the train heading down to meet the CJSF Pride Crew, someone remarked that they hope the sun comes out and I had to laugh. “The sun ALWAYS comes out for Pride,” I said, and it’s true. I’ve never been to a Vancouver Pride event where the sun hasn’t come to join us.

I honestly think it’s because the universe is feeding off all that amazing positive energy. There were a few glares a few people I am sure who wasn’t thrilled to be there, but you know what? It didn’t matter, there’s not a single moment I can think of that didn’t make me smile in pure unadulterated happiness, and it was fucking awesome.

So huge thank you to Magnus, Emily, Dano, and Chris for a straight up fucking amazing day, all capped off by a Fat Burger so huge I couldn’t even finish it. Dano laughed when I said I was too tired to eat any more food. It was a lovely, beautiful great day and I’ve never in my entire life been happier to be involved with something like this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll the work and worry that we might not be good enough or big enough to promote CJSF or that we didn’t have enough volunteers, all of that vanishes when you get to be the person who gives a pair of beads to a little girl who didn’t get any. When she looks at you like you totally just made her day when she feels special because you gave away something that cost 99 cents.

When you see women of all ages, races, genders, gender identities, colors, creeds and nationalities standing by men of the same, not afraid to be proud of who they are, not afraid to come out and support something they are told is wrong. Every person who showed up yesterday for Vancouver Pride I am proud of you.

I am proud of every girl of color, every boy who was told he wasn’t good enough, every person who found within themselves the courage to come together and enjoy the happiness, to spread the happiness to those who cannot feel it, to remind us what it really means to spread love, to enjoy the warm comforting embrace of love, I thank you.

I bow to every one of the amazing Queens who decided to wear heels during that damned march, you’re a hero for all women, I couldn’t have done it…and I did try.

Thank you to the two Wonder Women who took a photo with me, it was pretty amazing. I have quite literally not 1 bad thing to say about yesterday and as tired as I still am, I cannot wait to do it again next year.

If you or someone you know would like to volunteer at CJSF you can do so here. I really hope you decide to join us because I can honestly say no organization I’ve had the pleasure of working with, has had a team quite like this one. SUPER proud to say I’m there!

Thank you all.

Untitled

 

 

2 thoughts on “Never before has volunteering given me as much pleasure

Comments are closed.