“Cis people need to Shut the fuck up and let Trans People Take the Lead”

Screenshot_13Anyone who believes this statement is an idiot. The very fact that anyone thinks people identifying as Trans CAN take the lead, needs to shut the fuck up.

Trans Lives have always been in danger, in the last ten-fifteen years, Translives have been in more danger than Straight (Cis) Bisexual, Gay or Lesbian lives, purely because people who are Trans do not fit into a box. They fit into more than one box and for some reason that terrifies lesser minds.

This morning I woke up thinking I was going to go to CJSF and discuss how we were going to promote CJSF at Pride while simultaneously screaming at the top of our lungs that MY pride is YOUR pride and OUR pride, and then….Trans Ban.

Three days ago I swore that I was dedicating my activism to those of you who identify as Transgender in the name of my new friend who I’ve just absolutely fallen in love with. Today my promise is being tested. I am promising that I will fight until I die for every human being, to have equal rights, regardless of age, race, sex, creed or nationality. Gender, Gender identity or size.

I’ve been crying since I found out – and yet I can’t help but think that no matter how shitty “I” feel right now, it doesn’t even begin to compare to how people who are Trans must be feeling. I cannot imagine the terror you must be feeling, thinking that people you have worked with in the military services will be “coming after you” to “cleanse the military of a medical drain.”

Donald Trump has now made it clear: It is now (again) okay to openly taunt and harass Trans people. That’s what’s going to happen, do you get that? This isn’t just about getting them out of military service, he has now put their lives, their very existence in danger.

Again.

Make no mistake, Donald Trump does not give a shit about people who are Trans, this was done, is being done to distract us from whatever horrible thing is about to happen today. Oh yeah, The Republicans are deciding whether or not to revoke the ACA. Which would destroy medical care for more than 23 million people.

This is a distraction that we will fight, until our dying breaths. I will NEVER shut up, I might not be leading the fight, because no I am not Trans, I have the luxury of being a Queer Black woman who refuses to identify into any one box, but I will not shut the fuck up.

I will not be silent, I will not remain quiet, no I will fight. Trans lives matter, If you are Trans you are my brother, my sister, my future friend and my ally. I will defend you as equally as I would defend a person who is gay, lesbian, bisexual, queer. I will defend you as equally as I would defend a child.

I am so sorry to every one of the possible 15,000-16,000 men and women in the military who are now panicking. I can feel you, I can feel your fear as you wake this day to think you’re going to work, only to find you may not have a job any longer purely because you are TransGender. We will fight this, as you fight to defend OUR rights, OUR freedoms we will defend yours. I love you and I am sorry.

I love you,

Devon J Hall

5 thoughts on ““Cis people need to Shut the fuck up and let Trans People Take the Lead”

  1. Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    Devon writes and speaks in response to several statements about Trans issues (Donald Trump’s ban on Trans people in the military, not least) and questions of who can speak and lead.

  2. I absolutely agree that we all need to do our bit so that everyone is safe, heard, and celebrated for the amazing people they are.

    But I have to say that I think we’re taking the statement “Cis people need to Shut the fuck up and let Trans People Take the Lead” a little differently. To me it means that cis people need to do their damnedest to make sure that it’s safe for trans people to take the lead. As a cis person I don’t know exactly what my trans siblings need, but I can use my privilege to make sure their voices are being heard.

    • I TOTALLY agree Rachel – My issue wasn’t with the intent of the words, it was in fact with the words themselves. If people who are marginalized want those who are not to stand with them, or for them, then they need to remember words matter. I am 100% the idea that LGTBQ people SHOULD be taking the lead, but for those who do not feel safe doing so I’m there for them, 100% whatever that may mean or whatever they need, I’m there….or at least that is what I was trying to convey

Comments are closed.