Justine Ruszczyk shot by police, where’s the outrage? Why doesn’t Black Lives Matter Care?!

I don’t really know what to say. A beautiful, smart, talented, kind hearted woman identified as a Spiritual Healer was killed by a police officer after she called 911, and I am confused as to why people aren’t marching in the streets. Where is the global outrage about another innocent life gunned down by the police?

Oh, of course, she’s white so her life matters than that of those of us who are colored right?

Please spare me your phony outrage at the idea that I would say such a thing. The very fact that Black Lives Matter is staying abnormally silent when this event could be used as another reason to further their cause against the Police state, is proof that BLM doesn’t actually give a shit about life. They care about themselves.

Two years ago I reached out to BLM and asked supporters and founders what it is they wanted to help their cause, I wanted to know what it was that BLM wanted to help connect police and BLM so that these senseless and violent shootings stopped happening.

I did not receive an answer, I didn’t expect to, I expect however now that I am posting this I am going to hear how Justine Ruszczyk’s death is “not the same.”

It’s not the same because she’s white. The only reason that Justine Ruszczyk’s death at the hand of a trigger happy cop does not matter to you is that she is not Black.

To BLM her life, her story doesn’t matter, because they believe that people care more about white people than they do about black people, and yet where is the outrage?

Where are the protestors? where are the angry screaming mobs? sorry, I forgot, she’s white. She doesn’t deserve an angry mob, right?

When Eric Garner was shot the protests went on for weeks, now however that an innocent white woman has been shot, BLM is terrifyingly quiet, and it’s this silence that is going to destroy your movement.

I understand, as a Black Woman, more so now than ever before what Racism feels like, I understand the rage when an unarmed Black person is shot and killed by the very same people who are supposed to protect you. I get it, but I gotta say I am beyond pissed and disgusted that BLM is not active right now. That they are staying silent.

Your silence speaks volumes, you as a community have the power to affect change if you use that power properly, but you are continuously making the choice not to.

You have created a line between you and everyone else in the world and that’s just not okay.

Recently I had a conversation with someone I will not name, about whether or not our organization would participate in PRIDE this year, because BLM didn’t want RCMP there.

Instead of bringing people together, you’re tearing them apart. You expect every person on the planet to fall behind you, to take up your flag and defend the rights of Black men women and children, and yet when anyone else – when the same people who stand by you, need your voice, need your support, you stay silent.

Frankly, every person publically involved with Black Lives Matters, disgust me.

I am waiting to hear the excuses about why Justine Ruszczyk’s shooting and death mean less than that of any Black man killed by police, and I know there will be at least one twit who will have the balls to say something. There always is.

I am broken hearted for Justine Ruszczyk and her family, I like most women dream about my wedding day. About the day that I publically declare my love for the man I plan to spend my life with – whoever that is.

I dream about it, I know what church I want to get married in, and what my dress will look like, I know what flowers I want. Just like Justine Ruszczyk, I look forward to this day, the only difference between me and Justine Ruszczyk is that she will never get the chance to spend the rest of her life with the man she loves.

YOU members of BLM have the power to do something, to stand up for her, and to make her life and death matter, the fact that you are choosing not to is exactly why I will not in any way shape or form support Black Lives Matter.

I expect more of you, because you have a voice that has such a reach, because you have a voice that matters to those of us of color who are begging for people to stand up for us and you are proving that the only thing you the famed of BLM care about is making a name for yourself rather than affecting real change.

Instead of creating neighborhood watches, community meetings and bridging the gap between ordinary citizens and police, you are tearing your community apart in the name of color.

Fuck that shit.

Several years ago when my mom took over our place of work, she was the only one who walked down the “scariest street” in Surrey, it was so dangerous Police wouldn’t even walk down 102A without at least three other cops with them. Say what you want about Jonquil Hallgate, but she has created a bridge in this community between police and the homeless. She’s made it possible for the homeless to stop looking at the cops with fear, and the cops to stop looking at the homeless with disgust.

THAT is what community is about, and until you start using your voice to start creating a bridge in your communities, regardless of Race, Creed, Nationality, Size, Color, until you start behaving as if ALL lives matter, instead of the lives you deam worthy, then we will continue to have cops shooting innocent people for no reason and facing no consequences.

You have the power to stand up for Justine Ruszczyk and the very fact that you choose not to is both disgusting and completely cruel. By staying silent about her death and the cop who caused it what you are really saying is that her life doesn’t matter because she is not Black. 

To the friends and family of Justine Ruszczyk, I know that nothing I say can bring back the woman you love, I know that there is nothing I can do that can make her death matter, but please know, I will carry her in my heart. Her life matters to me, because she was an innocent who called for help for someone else and died for it. Her life matters, because you loved her.

I am sending all of my love to the family of Justine Ruszczyk today and I hope, and pray that some of you who read this, will too.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Justine Ruszczyk shot by police, where’s the outrage? Why doesn’t Black Lives Matter Care?!

  1. bobcabkings says:

    Devon, you point to what may be the most tragic part of all this. There can be no real change or healing so long as advocates representing any given community – Black, Brown, Red, White, Yellow, or Rainbow, or whatever – only appear to care about what happens to people like them.

Comments are closed.