Dear Manchester,

I am sorry that the words “I am Sorry” do not seem enough. I am so terribly sorry that your children were attacked for a war they have nothing to do with. I am so sorry that the armies of hatred and darkness are so afraid of light and love that they felt the need to attack children.

When I was a child at St. James School, our “theme song” was a song called “We Children of the Light.” I am reminded of this song and I want to share it with you now.

We are children, children of the Light
We are shining in the darkness of the night
Hope for this world, joy throughout the land.
Touch the hearts of everyone, take everybody’s hand.

I don’t usually share Church stuff here, you know that, but this particular song got me through some of the darkest times of my life.

I am sharing this song because I truly believe that every word of this song is absolute truth. Children are nothing but light, and love they are all things good. What is happening is not the fault of innocent children but because of angry men who sick and angry. There is no excuse for what they have done. There are no words to make it okay, to make it better.

I can only ask that if you can bring yourself not to, don’t forget. Never forget what happened in Manchester, what is happening all over the world.

The night before the concert, another 20 people were killed or injured because of these men, because of these disturbed angry men and the only thing I can say to make it better is that it happened because we are winning.

When an animal attack happens it is because they are afraid, because they are scared of losing whatever battle they enter into. I truly believe that those who serve the darkness of the world are afraid. We are becoming a global society that is learning to respect one each other, we are learning that inspiration and love are far more powerful than hatred and fear. We are learning to speak up when we’ve been abused and attacked to stand together instead of letting the darkness control us and I think that those of us who want us dead are seeing that, and are afraid.

So let them come because no matter what they do, no matter who they hurt they will never silence those of us who believe our world can be a better world for the next generation.

Every day new children are born and it is our job to stand with Manchester, it is our job to stand up against fear and hatred to spread love as far and as wide as we can.

So that is what I will be doing. I will focus on the positives of any dark situation, I will spread love and I will ask my followers and supporters to do the same. Never forget the darkness is always going to be there, it will always try to tear you down and break you up, but all you have to do is reach out and someone will be there.

“You will never walk alone.” Was a favorite quote of a man Liam, who sadly took his life earlier this year. They were words he lived and died by, darkness took him but his legacy lives on. Please if you feel like hurting yourself or someone else, reach out. There is help. You are not as alone as you think.

On behalf of myself, my friends and my followers my love is being sent to Manchester tonight and to the amazing Ariana Grande who showed the world she’s more than just a popstar, she’s an inspiration to millions of young men and women all over the globe. Thank you, for all you have done to show the world that Manchester is forever strong.

 

Devon  J Hall

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dear Manchester,

Comments are closed.