I wish Bloggers weren’t such fucking assholes

Screenshot_10So my friend Rachel (who I’ve discussed a lot) just posted these tweets to Twitter and I gotta tell you, I am not a happy Synabish right fucking now.

Now I’m all for disliking a book, and I’m even totally with you if you decide you need to let the author know how you felt about said book.

What I am not for, however, is you making the decision to you are going to set out to destroy an Author purely because you dislike something they said, that had nothing to do with the fucking book you are giving a review for.

What the hell is wrong with people? Seriously?! I love and adore Rachel and I often can be seen referring to her as my big sister, so perhaps I am a bit biased but seriously people a bad review because you didn’t like being told that your Automatic Direct messages were unwelcome?! Get over yourself. And while you are at it, get a fucking life.

I have yet to read Rachel’s book, mostly because I can’t afford to buy the damned thing. I’m poor whatever. I do however know Rachel and I know how amazingly beautiful, wise and strong she is and it irks me to no end that people think that this behavior is okay.

It’s not. I think what pisses me off the most is that this person chose to make not one but

two bad reviews for a book she didn’t even buy!

 

Straight up bloggers if you are wanting to become more than a blogger, if you want your work to go from being on a website, to being put onto paper and into the hands of eager readers Rachel is the one person I’ve known in twelve years of using social media of any kind, that genuinely wants to help you succeed. This is how you repay her? Seriously? Fuck off with that bullshit.

Now, just for argument’s sake let us take Rachel out of the equation.

Sending auto Dm’s is sort of like walking into someone’s home naked. It’s rude, it’s uncalled for and it’s damn sure unwelcome. I personally hate them, which is why I never use them. Raise your hand if you like knowing you’re one of twenty million people getting the same dumbass message telling you how loved you are?!

You know why I love and adore Rachel? Because she is fucking authentic, she’s real. She works damn hard to promote her work, to speak up for victims of abuse and to show you, those of you who have not yet found your voice that you can without a doubt be a survivor too. What does she get in return, on like a regular basis? She gets attacked, repeatedly by people who want her to shut up and go away.

Rachel refuses to do so however because as much as it might hurt to be treated like shit on a daily fucking basis, she puts her head up a little higher and takes it. Fucking knock it off.

Rachel isn’t the only one. There are plenty of us who get hated upon because we have the courage to speak up and out, and frankly I’ve fucking had it. Quit being an asshole.

Don’t go and hate on someone’s book just because they have done something you can only dream of doing, because they are politely telling you that they would prefer if you did not use an auto DM service that is FUCKING ANNOYING AS FUCKING HELL AND MAKES US ALL WISH YOU WERE JUST A LITTLE BIT FUCKING DEAD.

-Breaths-

I have a rule – 1 Auto DM = 1 Block. I will block your ass immediately and this is a problem for you, because you are trying very hard to “brand” yourself, you’re trying to become a professional, you are working towards the goal of being a published author, while simultaneously pissing off one of the few women on Twitter who have access to all the important people in publishing. This is probably not going to go over well when they find out that you’re a fucking twitter troll because mostly it means you’re an asshole. No one wants to work with an asshole.

Especially publishers, they work with artsy fartsy cranky writers all day every day, they will stroke your ego and make you a rock star in the literary world, or they will silence you.

This isn’t just about Rachel it’s about the entire blogging world. It’s hard enough to get noticed without assholes like you taking up space, without you trying to tear us down simply because you didn’t like the itty bitty slap on the wrist you got. It’s petty and it’s low and just basic juvenile behavior. Grow up.

And yeah this post in of itself could be considered petty and low, but you know what? I really don’t give a flying rainbow fuck. I have watched for months as Twitter and social media trolls have tried to tear Rachel down, I have watched as she’s quietly taken it, often giving a nod to let them know she’s noticed their behavior but rarely does she stand up for herself. Because usually, Rachel takes the high road – until her cranky little sister gives her a push.

This post is dedicated to all my supportive amazing blogger friends. You who inspire me, challenge me, push me, tell me that I’ll get through it when I feel like breaking down I love you. There are so many of you I can’t begin to list them all but for those of you who are fucking asshats? you’re the minority. It’s going to get pretty fucking lonely for when we’re ALL published authors, and you’re still just a petty little bitch posting fraudulent Amazon reviews.

All my fucking love,

Devon J Hall

 

 

9 thoughts on “I wish Bloggers weren’t such fucking assholes

  1. Wow. Unbelievable. I saw the whole convo on there about the auto-DMs the other day and agree they are stupid. I don’t personally block over it, but it comes across really fake and annoying (especially when they try hard to make them personal sounding), and it’s almost always a guaranteed way to get me to ignore whatever the offer is, when I might have considered buying their book or whatever had they just left me alone and trusted me to discover what they do on my own.

    Either way attacking someone over that opinion is crazy, let alone leaving bad book reviews. People are so hypersensitive these days you can’t say anything anymore without someone losing it.

  2. What is it about Twitter? Apart from a few people (yourself included) whenever I get a DM it’s always an auto-DM OR some people spewing off weird stuff (seriously, good for you for doing skin-to-skin while breastfeeding. I don’t need to know about it).

    Thank you for being so amazing and supportive! I feel lucky to know you ❤

Comments are closed.