Sisterhood Shoutout: Rachel Ann Hanson

Every once in awhile I just don’t feel like writing, and luckily for me I have an amazing arsenal of female writers to call upon to fill my small corner of the web with something amazing.

This time it’s my beloved friend Rachel Ann Hanson. I reached out and asked if she’d like to take over my blog for a post and when she asked what I’d like her to write, I told her to tell a story about her life, something funny or weird happy or sad.

These are her words which I think are perfect for mother’s day.  To all the moms out there, no matter where you are in your life – whether you are male or female, on behalf of myself and Rachel, here’s to hoping y’all have a most wonderful and beautiful Mother’s Day.

______________________________________________________________________________________

RAHThe older I get, the more I see a theme emerging in my life. I see this theme as “You thought you knew what to expect? HA! Hold on to your helmets!” And then everything that I thought would happens ends up getting completely turned on its head.

This theme really started to become clear to me three years ago when my daughter Electric was born. I figured, not 100% incorrectly, that women had been giving birth without drugs for hundreds of years, and that I could totally do it too. I had a fabulous pregnancy, my midwife was wonderful and I had no complications. It seemed like my plan to have a beautiful natural birth in a tub with jets and very warm water was a go. A few weeks before I was due my midwife told me my blood pressure was a little high so we should keep an eye on it.

Fast forward about a month, my blood pressure hadn’t improved so I was kind of preparing myself to not be able to have this beautiful water birth I had planned on. Minnesota, and particularly the Twin Cities, is a fabulous place to have a baby. The health care practitioners are really good at communicating openly, making you feel heard, and having a genuine discussion about your options and supporting the decisions you make. But, of course, they are also cautious. You can’t have a water birth if you have a variety of medical complications and that includes high blood pressure. But I wasn’t fussed, because a living baby was the ultimate goal. I was still determined to go drug free.

After three days, that’s right gentle reader, THREE DAYS of labor I was starting to change my mind. First I asked for an IV narcotic “to take the edge off.” It didn’t really do much for me. So there I was, exhausted and realizing that of all my body parts (including my brain) my cervix may be the most stubborn. So I said, “I would like an epidural, please.”

At this point I will add a note to any nurse anesthetists that may be reading. If you are in a labor and delivery room to give an epidural and the laboring woman asks how you are doing, please ignore the time of day, give her a reassuring smile, and say that you are doing well and you’re glad to be there taking care of her. Grunting in response is not acceptable in this setting. Grunt to your coworkers, not to your patients.

RAHSix hours after the epidural, of which I was asleep for most of them (it was beautiful), I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. As Electic has passed her third birthday, and I have since had another delightful medicated birth (only a day and a half with Adorable!), she often tells Nateanite and I to “holds on to our helmets.” All I can say is, we are doing our best.

-Rachel Anne Hanson

If you’d like to see more of her beautiful writing you can do so here.

 

If you have a humorous story about giving birth, please share it in the comments below, until next time, we’re sending all our love,

Rachel and Devon

