Do I have a responsibility to announce that I’m Black, Online?

It’s a question I’ve been pondering lately. Personally I don’t feel that your skin color has anything to do with…well anything to be honest. I have though never felt connected to the Black Community in real life, much less online.

As I’ve said before I don’t “feel” black. I don’t even really know what it means to be “Black.” by some standards I’m not Black I’m brown, because if you look at my photos I’m a light skinned black. Which apparently in some circles makes you less Black than say other circles.

This whole race thing is really confusing as fuck, I have to tell you. I recently found out that many members of my family (some of whom are American – I’m sorry.) are in fact Trump Supporters.

-sigh-

 

Yeah. That’s all I got for today.

Love

test

2 thoughts on “Do I have a responsibility to announce that I’m Black, Online?

  1. From what you’ve said earlier on this subject – ancestry, upbringing, etc – I’m not surprised it is confusing. The idea of “race” from about the 16th Century onward is a European invention used to justify conquest, oppression , slavery, and genocide. I haven’t had my genome analyzed, but I would probably find some surprises if I did And, as far as Blackness, we all trace our ancestry back to Africa and 60,000 years is less than an eye blink in the history of life on Earth.

Comments are closed.