Shut the Fuck Up and Sing

The Dixie Chicks once received a letter that said they better “Shut up and Sing or they would be killed.” 

It’s too bad the rest of Hollywood didn’t take that advice, am I right? I mean who do these people think that they are? These actors, these singers, these “entertainers”. Who on earth gave them the idea that their thoughts, feelings and opinions actually mattered to the rest of us?

Last night Meryl Streep went on and on for a full five minutes about how amazing the Arts are and how useless hatred is. She said that Martial Arts and Football were not “The” Arts, and I can’t even believe I am going to say this, she asked the people of the Hollywood Forign Press to stand up in the face of hatred and bigotry, mysogony and abuses of power. 

How fucking Dare She?! Doesn’t she know she’s little more than a Jester who’s one and only job is to shut the fuck up and sing?! To Entertain us? I mean really what right does she have am I right? 

Yeah, I know what you’re thinking. “This is exactly how fucking stupid I sound when I Miss The Fucking Point!

Before you tell me how awful I am or how wrong I am consider that perhaps Meryl wasn’t trying in any way shape or form to insult anyone or insinuate that Martial Arts and Football doesn’t take effort and work.

You cannot however compare Martial Arts or Football to writing, drawing, dancing or painting. All are beautiful in their own ways, but if we loose Art – if we lose our ability to commentate on the world around us nothing else will matter.

If Writers, Painters and Artists in general are no longer allowed to speak up when they see a problem with the world then it won’t fucking matter if you spent twenty years honing the craft of Martial Arts or becoming a football star.

This right here is our moment. This is our chance to unify as one society. To step up and say no it is not okay that four people bullied, beat and abused a man who trusted them. It is not okay they tied him up for days on end to humiliate him and use his race against him.

It is not okay that police officers kill and beat innocent people – of any color, race, creed or nationality.

It is not okay that we are allowing ourselves to be separated by Race.

I am lucky in that I have the privilege of watching through a window. I am not involved in any current protests or actions but it doesn’t mean that I don’t have the right to comment.

How dare you tell anyone they have no right to comment. Because they have more money than you?

You all know how I feel about Oprah, I admit I am still a little pissed off with her over her “They need to die comment.” that being said she went through hell to get where she is.

So many of us seem to forget you don’t just move to Hollywood and become a star over night. It takes work, it takes sacrifice. Many of the men and women in Hollywood have lived in poverty, been raped, bullied, molested, sexually, emotionally, verbally and physically abused.

Some of them have lived in poverty – lived on the streets or in their cars, they have suffered to get where they are today.

I admit it. I’d love to live in California and have a big beautiful house and ten cars, an obscene amount of money in the bank and the financial freedom that gives me the privilege of doing what I want and going where I want, but I am very aware sitting on my ass isn’t going to get me there. It isn’t going to give me the success I so badly crave. I actually have to get the fuck up and do something to change my life, before it is actually going to change.

One of my favorite quotes of all time is from Billy Corgan. He once said “Fuck yes I sold out, I sang what they told me to sing when they told me to sing it and now I get to do whatever the fuck I want. I’m free now because I made enough money doing what I was told to do so I could do what I want to do whenever I wanted to do it.”

I love that, it’s honest and it’s true. He worked his ass of for more then ten years to get where he is today and he’s earned the right to speak up when he feels like his voice can inspire someone, good for him.

Meryl Streep might just be an actress to you, but to millions of people she’s an inspiration, an angel a guide.

I am so tired of people complaining about things that don’t matter. If all you got from her speech last night was “Football and Martial Arts are not the Arts.” Then not only weren’t you listening but how fucking lucky that this is the only thing you have to worry about.

I don’t give a shit who you voted for, or what color your skin is but don’t you dare tell me that any American, any Human should shut up. How fucking dare you tell them that their opinion doesn’t matter.

The Rights, Privileges and Freedoms afforded to us in the Western world do not dissapear because you disagree with what it is we have to say, so do yourselves and me a favor and shut the fuck up. 

“Speak Little Listen Much.” One of the most important Tenants of all Spiritualists. Maybe it’s time we stop yelling at each other, we stop harassing and hating each other and maybe we start to listen. What do you say?

Why don’t we for just one moment, turn off our phones, shut down our social media just for say ten minutes, close our eyes, take a deep breath and listen?

All My Love,

sig

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Shut the Fuck Up and Sing

  1. “We all know that Art is not truth. Art is a lie that makes us realize the truth, at least the truth that is given to us to understand.” Pablo Picasso

    “The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance.” Aristotle

    Artists exist, are called into being by cultures, not merely to entertain and distract, but to tell those levels of truth, sometimes in their art, sometimes in their own personal voices. Speak, they must, and speak they will, even the hardest truths to hear. When we are vary lucky, they manage to package those truths in ways that we can swallow and digest slowly. At other times it is more raw and even bitter.

Comments are closed.