Writers Write: M.M. Leonard

Ren? Magritte, The Son of Man, 1964, Restored by Shimon D. Yanowitz, 2009 øðä îàâøéè, áðå ùì àãí, 1964, øñèåøöéä ò"é ùîòåï éðåáéõ, 2009

-Edit- M.M. Is the amazing creator of the Crowd Sourced Story called Exploits of a Midnight Traveler. An amazing project with 30 authors that I am truly proud to be a part of. If you get the chance please drop by and read it.

1. Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog? I’m MM Leonard and I write weird stuff at mmleonard.com and pretty much just write whatever comes to mind. I focus mostly on writing and movies. Recently, I seem to be on a anti-scam bent with everything I’ve been seeing on twitter.

2. Describe how did you first get into blogging? I’ve only been doing in since late February. I wanted to connect with an audience.

3. Can you tell me some of your strengths that really helped you in blogging? I work hard, type fast, and can learn new skills relatively quickly. I’ve built a few websites before in gaming and did video production on another youtube channel.

4. How would you describe your blogging style? I am sarcastic and serious.

6. What type of networking do you think is better to enhance your traffic to the blog? I believe it is good to make connections in whatever niche you are aiming for. Most of my connections are with movie review people and authors.

7. What do you think is the best service a blogger can provide to his or her readers? Be real and tell the truth.

8. What would be your ideal working environment? Working wherever you want in the world.

9. How do you manage time to run your blog efficiently? I have a day job, so I write late at night. I try to limit my blogging activities before 8pm, except people turn stuff in really late.

10. What do you think is the best strategy that worked well for you to get more traffic to your blog? Ironically, the best traffic stuff have been accidents that I can’t explain. Like today I had my biggest spike in traffic off a random article I wrote 6 weeks ago and haven’t tweeted out in at least 3 days. It takes one random influence to see your stuff to get traction.

11. How do you want to improve yourself in the next year? I’m aiming for new video production efforts for social engagement.

12. What was your greatest failure and what did you learn from that? Stopped writing a decade ago because of feedback from one person. Learned to be yourself and write what you want.

13. Tell me about your proudest achievement? I won an Academy award for best director for Birdman. Shit, let me think about that one.

14. Who has impacted you most in blogging and how? So far, Carrie Green has taught me most of what I know about twitter. I knew nothing 2 months ago, and now I know a little.

15. What is your greatest achievement outside of blogging? I climbed Mount Everest Can’t really rank them.

16. How do you think I rate your blog as an interviewer? You think I’m awesome, of course, because I body slammed The Rock at Wrestlemania.

17. What do you do in your spare time? I write, work out, and watch movies. I used to travel.

18. Where would you like to be in blogging five years from now? Hopefully I’ll be blogging about my novel’s movie deal.

19. What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far? Copycats are everywhere. People literally steal everything.

20. Can you name some of your favourite bloggers and explain why they are your favorites? I think Chuck Wendig writes some authentic stuff. I follow Geroge RR Martin’s blog, but he talks mostly sports.

21. What inspired you to start your blog? Everyone said to get a platform, and I had none. Simple as that.

22. How do you motivate yourself to keep the blog up and running? It’s fairly simple to type about your life. It takes very little thought or effort and is sort of fun, in a weird Truman Show way.

23. Can you tell me about few sources from where you get products for review on your site? I called Rolex, and they just shipped me 3 watches in 7 days.

24. What do you find the most frustrating aspect of blogging? I try to make it interactive, and most people look at you like competition, and don’t want to cross promote or come through on time.

25. In the future where do you hope your blog will take you? I don’t care if it goes anywhere. I’ve enjoyed just having something for myself, like a journal. If it helps build an author brand, so be it, but I’ll be me.

26. Have you met anyone interesting/famous on your blogging journey? A few actors have tweeted back, but that’s about it.

27. Do you have any specific goals for the rest of this year? To finish another 2 books and 2 screenplays and 2 short stories to match the last 6 months.

28. What is the biggest difference in your life post-blogging? I now get a shit-load more texts and emails.

29. Did you have any professional help or did you created the blog yourself? I did it myself in about 2 hours. I switched templates a few times.

30. How active are you on a weekly basis? How often do you communicate with your followers? I respond to all messages within a day.

31. How much time do you spend blogging? Maybe an hour a day.

32. What do you think is the best social media strategy for getting more visitors to a blog? Get a celeb. Maybe a Kardashian.

33. Would you encourage other people to make their blog? Only if they want their life out there forever.

34. Is blogging your profession or just a hobby? Hobby.

35.A lot of people think that blogging is an easy way to make money online. Do you have some tips for those people who are interested in making money from the blog? The medium to make money is vlogging, not blogging, and the name in that game is to get attention anyway you can, while working in the confines of what you think is respectable.

